There are 15 Award Categories for the LeicestershireLive Business Awards 2021.

*Please note – The deadline for entries to this year’s awards is 11.59pm on Friday 3rd January 2020

Company of the Year

The Company of the Year Award celebrates businesses that have performed outstandingly throughout the year.

Recognising a firm that has stood out from the crowd, the winner of this category will have developed a strong business presence with proof of achievements including strong market share, economic turn-around and innovative approach.

Judges will be looking for a business that can be universally admired for their commercial practice and dedication to success.

Businesses from all sectors are eligible to apply.

SME Business of the Year

The award is open to companies in the region which normally employ no more than 250 full-time staff members and have a proven record of success.

Recognising a business that has shown marked success over the year, this award celebrates companies that are integral to the economy. For all finalists, judges will consider the prospective growth and development opportunities for the future of each business.

Businesses from all sectors are eligible to apply.

Employer of the Year

This award honours the region’s top employers. These companies will have demonstrated strong investment in their employees as well having a reward scheme and other key employee benefits. It’s time to reward them, as they do their staff. They will be recognised as one of the best places to work in the area!

Businesses from all sectors are eligible to apply.

Business Entrepreneur of the Year

This award celebrates the individuals behind some of the most innovative and successful businesses in Leicestershire.

Looking at the individual achievements of the entrepreneur, the results returned by their business and their unique approach to the marketplace they operate in, the judges will select finalists that best represent the entrepreneurs and business spirit of the region.

Excellence in Science & Technology Award

Paying tribute to the company that has excelled in the field of science and technology, this award recognises advancement and innovation.

Continuing a strong scientific and technological ethos, the finalists will be selected and judged on the quality of their products and services, their dedication to sales performance, their commitment to innovation and the sustainability of their business.

Excellence in Manufacturing Award

The Excellence in manufacturing Awards celebrates the company that has upheld the manufacturing traditions of the local area, while continuing to strengthen the regional economy.

All finalists will demonstrate a dedication to manufacturing excellence with emphasis placed on quality, sales performance, sustainability and investment.

Contribution to the Community Award

The finalists for this award will have demonstrated considerable dedication to corporate, social and ethical responsibility, providing the community with the many positive outcomes of their commercial activity.

Judges will focus on businesses that have contributed substantially to the community through various means including society-led projects, aiding economic regeneration and supporting local suppliers.

Not for Profit Organisation Award

The award celebrates the best of the county’s many not-for-profit organisations that make a difference to the local community.

Recognising the excellent performance of the public sector, not-for-profit and charitable organisations in the area, the award will be judged on the organisations’ ability to maintain financial performance, as well as looking at the cultural influence of the business and the potential benefits it brings.

Excellence in Innovation Award

The Excellence in Innovation Award celebrates a company that has made strides in their field, be it creating or introducing something new within the industry, while continuing to strengthen the regional economy.

The finalists will be selected and judged on the quality of their products and services, their dedication to sales performance, their commitment to innovation and the sustainability of their business.

Family Business of the Year

This award is for established family businesses across all industry sectors that can demonstrate sustained success across a broad range of measures, whilst ensuring all family values are followed. The judges will also be looking at the aspirations of your business to demonstrate how both current and future family generations will be involved in the growth of the business.

Customer Service Excellence Award

This award recognises those companies that make customer service a priority in their day to day operations. The judges will be looking for a company that can demonstrate how they deliver excellent customer service and can showcase this with testimonials and through their methods.

Businesses from all sectors are eligible to apply.

Apprentice Employer of the Year

This award recognises the businesses that are providing valuable opportunities for young jobseekers in the area. Over recent years, the younger generation have struggled in the job market, and this category celebrates the employers who are supporting the youth of today.

The finalists in this category will have gone above and beyond to take on a number of apprentices and provide them with the support and training needed to kick-start their careers.

Excellence in Training and Development

This award recognises businesses that use training and development as an essential tool for success. All processes for reviewing training and development will be reviewed by the judges as well as all specific training that is used within these companies. The way in which learning, and development has an impact on; an individual, a team and a customer will be assessed.

International Trade and Export

This award will reward an organisation that has generated substantial and sustained increases in export activity. The judges will be tasked with considering all aspects of the company, looking at their unique offering and business approach, as well as the level of international trade achieved and the measurable financial results of this. Nominations are welcome from all sectors.

Small Business Growth and Development Award

This category wants to recognise businesses who employ up to 50 people and have been trading for up to 5 years. Businesses who have excelled in their field and have exciting development plans for the future.

Hospitality Innovation Award

The Hospitality Innovation Award celebrates restaurants and eateries that have brilliantly adapted their business to meet challenging COVID-19 restrictions. The finalists will be selected and judged on how they transformed their delivery and eat-in services, their dedication to adopting new technologies, and their commitment to providing a safe and pleasurable dining experience.